How much will child care cost, and how much of it can taxes give back? This page shows what full-time care costs in your state from the U.S. Labor Department’s price database, and how much the bigger 2026 federal child care credit and a dependent care FSA can take off the bill, with the math shown. In 2022, the state median for full-time infant care at a center ran from about $6,171 a year (Mississippi) to $25,480 (District of Columbia); Tennessee was about $11,007.
Checked Oct. 24, 2026
Runs on your phone; nothing you type is sent anywhere.
| AGI | Filing status | Credit rate | Max credit, 1 / 2+ kids |
|---|---|---|---|
| $15,000 | Single or head of household | 50% | $1,500 / $3,000 |
| $25,000 | Single or head of household | 45% | $1,350 / $2,700 |
| $43,001 | Single or head of household | 35% | $1,050 / $2,100 |
| $75,000 | Single or head of household | 35% | $1,050 / $2,100 |
| $90,000 | Single or head of household | 27% | $810 / $1,620 |
| $103,001 | Single or head of household | 20% | $600 / $1,200 |
| $150,000 | Married filing jointly | 35% | $1,050 / $2,100 |
| $180,000 | Married filing jointly | 27% | $810 / $1,620 |
| $206,001 | Married filing jointly | 20% | $600 / $1,200 |
Married filing jointly keeps 35% all the way to $150,000 and reaches 20% above $206,000. Figured from the statute’s formula.
Source for this list: IRS Publication 503 (2025 edition; the rules here didn’t change for 2026).
Median yearly price for full-time care (weekly price x 52). Center = child care center; home-based = licensed family child care home.
| State | Center, infant | Center, toddler | Center, preschool | Home-based, infant | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $7,073 | $6,986 | $6,531 | $7,050 | 2022 |
| Alaska | $18,819 | $17,533 | $15,067 | $13,500 | 2022 |
| Arizona | $14,040 | $10,920 | $10,920 | $9,360 | 2022 |
| Arkansas | $7,670 | $7,412 | $6,630 | $5,980 | 2021 |
| California | $19,719 | $12,289 | $11,699 | $14,787 | 2022 |
| Colorado | $19,625 | $16,926 | $14,370 | $12,810 | 2022 |
| Connecticut | $18,200 | $18,200 | $14,820 | $13,000 | 2022 |
| Delaware | $14,575 | $10,359 | $10,934 | $9,447 | 2022 |
| District of Columbia | $25,480 | $23,431 | $20,410 | $20,800 | 2022 |
| Florida | $11,700 | $9,360 | $8,580 | $9,100 | 2022 |
| Georgia | $10,660 | $9,766 | $9,308 | $8,476 | 2022 |
| Hawaii | $19,020 | $13,680 | $13,680 | $10,800 | 2022 |
| Idaho | $8,653 | $8,031 | $7,294 | $6,760 | 2022 |
| Illinois | $14,473 | $11,440 | $9,837 | $10,804 | 2022 |
| Indiana | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | - |
| Iowa | $8,631 | $7,437 | $7,437 | $5,819 | 2022 |
| Kansas | $8,181 | $7,696 | $7,155 | $6,254 | 2022 |
| Kentucky | $7,868 | $6,989 | $6,989 | $6,122 | 2022 |
| Louisiana | $7,973 | $7,658 | $7,326 | $7,107 | 2022 |
| Maine | $11,960 | $11,093 | $10,088 | $9,447 | 2022 |
| Maryland | $17,024 | $12,001 | $12,001 | $12,439 | 2022 |
| Massachusetts | $24,001 | $21,242 | $16,120 | $13,000 | 2022 |
| Michigan | $9,006 | $9,006 | $8,094 | $9,485 | 2022 |
| Minnesota | $20,280 | $18,073 | $16,068 | $10,660 | 2022 |
| Mississippi | $6,171 | $5,617 | $5,617 | $3,472 | 2018/2022 |
| Missouri | $11,177 | $8,766 | $8,766 | $8,094 | 2020 |
| Montana | $11,482 | $11,963 | $10,260 | $9,253 | 2022 |
| Nebraska | $12,675 | $11,759 | $10,660 | $7,800 | 2022 |
| Nevada | $14,333 | $12,504 | $11,922 | $10,082 | 2022 |
| New Hampshire | $15,603 | $14,800 | $12,972 | $10,734 | 2022 |
| New Jersey | $16,314 | $15,755 | $15,755 | $10,108 | 2022 |
| New Mexico | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | - |
| New York | $15,600 | $14,404 | $13,468 | $13,000 | 2022 |
| North Carolina | $10,531 | $8,776 | $6,959 | $9,047 | 2022 |
| North Dakota | $11,118 | $10,139 | $9,412 | $8,181 | 2022 |
| Ohio | $15,340 | $13,780 | $12,064 | $10,400 | 2022 |
| Oklahoma | $11,204 | $9,695 | $9,695 | $8,129 | 2022 |
| Oregon | $17,131 | $15,728 | $12,326 | $11,941 | 2022 |
| Pennsylvania | $11,331 | $10,660 | $10,010 | $8,580 | 2020 |
| Rhode Island | $15,059 | $14,518 | $12,754 | $13,233 | 2022 |
| South Carolina | $10,344 | $9,622 | $9,418 | $7,152 | 2022 |
| South Dakota | $7,800 | $7,800 | $7,093 | $5,325 | 2022 |
| Tennessee | $11,007 | $7,610 | $7,610 | $8,060 | 2022 |
| Texas | $9,620 | $8,944 | $8,684 | $8,528 | 2022 |
| Utah | $11,766 | $9,561 | $8,739 | $8,745 | 2022 |
| Vermont | $16,282 | $15,362 | $15,876 | $10,618 | 2021 |
| Virginia | $12,829 | $10,115 | $9,711 | $9,268 | 2022 |
| Washington | $18,580 | $12,951 | $12,951 | $13,200 | 2022 |
| West Virginia | $8,709 | $8,273 | $8,572 | $8,004 | 2022 |
| Wisconsin | $15,236 | $13,455 | $13,455 | $11,440 | 2022 |
| Wyoming | $8,381 | $8,092 | $8,092 | $7,741 | 2022 |
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Women’s Bureau, National Database of Childcare Prices (state medians built from each state’s market rate survey). Prices are in each study year’s dollars, not adjusted for inflation; prices have risen since. Most states are 2022; Arkansas and Vermont 2021, Missouri and Pennsylvania 2020, Mississippi home-based 2018; Indiana and New Mexico aren’t reported. Prices vary a lot within a state: the Labor Department calls this database the most comprehensive federal source of child care prices at the county level, and its county factsheets show your county (technical report).
Facts and arithmetic, not tax advice. We republish Labor Department, IRS and HHS information with dates. No partner links on this page.
It depends a lot on the state, the child's age and the type of care. In the Labor Department's 2022 data, the state median price for full-time infant care at a center ranged from about $6,200 a year (Mississippi) to about $25,500 (District of Columbia); toddler and preschool care cost less. Prices have risen since 2022.
Starting with 2026 returns, the federal child and dependent care credit is up to 50% of up to $3,000 of care costs for one child or $6,000 for two or more, so up to $1,500 or $3,000. The rate drops to 35% once AGI is over $43,000, then falls again above $75,000 ($150,000 married filing jointly), to a minimum of 20%. It is not refundable.
$7,500 per household ($3,750 if married filing separately), up from $5,000. Money you put in is free of federal income tax and Social Security and Medicare tax, but it reduces the costs you can use for the child care credit.
Yes, but not for the same dollars. Whatever you get tax-free through the FSA comes off the $3,000 or $6,000 credit limit. With two or more kids, a $7,500 FSA uses up the whole $6,000 limit, so there is no credit left on top.
Day camp can count, even a sports or computer camp, if it lets you work. Overnight camp doesn't count (IRS Publication 503).
Federal child care subsidy rules let states help families with children under 13 whose income is at or below 85% of the state median income and whose parents work or are in school or job training; states often set lower limits and charge a copay. Head Start and Early Head Start are free for families at or below the poverty line and some others.
Estimates, not financial advice. Taxes, insurance, PMI and fees vary by lender, county and city; confirm with your lender, dealer and state agency before acting.